Font size  A-  A  A+

Dr. Manuela Bergmann

Gabriele Weeske
phone: 033200 88-2711
weeske@dife.de

Dife Logo

Printversion of: http://www.www.dife.de/forschung/zentrale-einrichtungen/humanstudienzentrum/index.php?lang=en
Status: 16.10.2018 05:15:32

Biological samples are stored in liquid nitrogen. (© Till Budde/DIfE)

Human Study Center (HSZ)

Profile

Aim of the Human Study Center (HSZ) is to support DIfE researchers in conducting human studies. In particular, the HSZ advises researchers on the procedures and methods required for epidemiological, experimental and clinical studies, such as the management of workflow, study participants, data, as well as a biomaterials bank. In addition, the HSZ assists scientists in the preparation of study designs, documents and applications. In this context, the HSZ is responsible for upholding high ethical standards and guaranteeing the observance of participants’ rights according to data-protection laws. Concerning the administrative procedures, the HSZ secretariat for studies coordinates all internal scientific projects as well as cooperative projects with external partners.

The core tasks of the HSZ range from the methodological or scientific supervision of the studies to their organizational implementation.

The HSZ is divided into four areas of responsibility: the data trustee, the examination center, the data center and the biobank. Each unit may be involved, depending on the required support. For example, in studies completely conducted by the HSZ, proband management is done by the trustee, whereas the study protocols are conducted in the examination center. The data center provides assessment instruments such as questionnaires and assumes responsibility for data collection as well as data flow. Finally, the biobank supervises the collection of biological samples as well as their processing and storage.

Furthermore, data sets and biological samples are provided for statistical analyses within research questions of DIfE scientists and their cooperation partners from other scientific institutions.

Currently, these are primarily data and biological samples from the EPIC (European Prospective Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition) Potsdam Study, a large cohort study which began in the early '90s. The utilization of data and samples from this study is dependent on the favorable assessment of an applicant‘s analysis concept by a scientific committee.

The HSZ has a scientific board consisting of the DIfE directorates as well as leading scientists whose research involves human studies. The board meets quarterly and advises the HSZ on strategic decisions.

© 2018 DIfE - German Institute of Human Nutrition. All rights reserved. // as of 20.07.2017

Webdesign // Netzformat Webdesign

Schriftgröße  A-  A  A+

Dr. Manuela Bergmann

Gabriele Weeske
Tel: 033200 88-2711
weeske@dife.de

Dife Logo

Druckversion von: http://www.www.dife.de/forschung/zentrale-einrichtungen/humanstudienzentrum/index.php
Stand: 29.03.2017 03:25:23

In der Biomaterialbank werden biologische Proben in flüssigem Stickstoff gelagert. (© Till Budde/DIfE)

Humanstudienzentrum (HSZ)

Kurzprofil

Das Humanstudienzentrum (HSZ) hat die Aufgabe, Forschende des DIfE bei der Durchführung von Studien am Menschen zu unterstützen. Insbesondere berät es die Forscher hinsichtlich der Abläufe und Methoden, die bei der Umsetzung epidemiologischer, experimenteller oder auch klinischer Studien benötigt werden: Workflowmanagement, Probandenmanagement, Datenmanagement und dem Betreiben einer Biomaterialbank. Zudem berät es die Wissenschaftler bei der Erstellung des Studiendesigns und der Anfertigung von Dokumenten und Anträgen. Dabei stellt das HSZ hohe ethische Standards sicher und gewährleistet, dass die Rechte der Probanden im Zusammenhang mit dem Datenschutz gewahrt bleiben. Hinsichtlich der administrativen Abläufe koordiniert das Studiensekretariat des HSZ sowohl alle wissenschaftlichen Projekte innerhalb des DIfE als auch Kooperationsprojekte mit externen Partnern.
 
Die Arbeitsschwerpunkte des HSZ erstrecken sich somit von der methodisch-wissenschaftlichen Begleitung bis hin zur organisatorischen Durchführung der Studien.
 
Das HSZ ist in vier Einheiten unterteilt: Vertrauensstelle, Untersuchungszentrum, Datenzentrum und Biomaterialbank. Sie kommen je nach benötigter Leistung zum Einsatz. Zum Beispiel wird bei Studien, die komplett vom HSZ durchgeführt werden, das Probandenmanagement durch die Vertrauensstelle abgewickelt, während im Untersuchungszentrum die Umsetzung der Studienprotokolle erfolgt. Das Datenzentrum stellt Erhebungsinstrumente wie beispielsweise Fragebögen bereit und gewährleistet die Datenerhebung und den Datenfluss. Schließlich ist die Biomaterialbank die Einheit, die sich nach der Gewinnung der biologischen Proben um die Aufbereitung und Einlagerung kümmert.
 
Darüber hinaus werden Datensätze und biologische Proben für die Bearbeitung wissenschaftlicher Fragestellungen von DIfE-Wissenschaftlern und ihren Kooperationspartnern aus anderen wissenschaftlichen Institutionen zur Verfügung gestellt. Zurzeit sind das hauptsächlich Daten und Bioproben aus der EPIC (European Prospective Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition)-Potsdam-Studie, die als große Kohortenstudie Anfang der 90er Jahre gestartet ist. Die Nutzung von Daten und Proben dieser Studie ist an eine positive Bewertung eines Analyseplans durch ein Gremium gebunden.
 
Das HSZ hat einen wissenschaftlichen Beirat, bestehend aus dem Vorstand des DIfE sowie leitenden Wissenschaftlern, deren Forschung auf Humanstudien basiert. Der Beirat tagt vierteljährlich und berät das HSZ bei strategischen Entscheidungen.

© 2017 DIfE - Deutsches Institut für Ernährungsforschung. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. // Stand 07.02.2017