Font size  A-  A  A+
2017 | 2016 | 2015

Dife Logo

Printversion of: http://www.www.dife.de/forschung/forschungshighlights/index.php?id=8&lang=en
Status: 19.04.2018 17:31:47

Enzyme Produced in the Liver Promotes Obesity, Fatty Liver Disease and Insulin Resistance

Research highlight 04.08.2017

In mice that are given a high-fat diet, an increased production of the enzyme DPP41 by the liver promotes an increase in body fat, the development of fatty liver disease and insulin resistance. In combination with observations from additional human and cell studies, these results of the Department of Experimental Diabetology indicate that increased DPP4 production by the liver is the cause rather than the consequence of a fatty liver and insulin resistance. DPP4 inhibitors are well known from the treatment of diabetes. Therefore, in the opinion of our scientists, they could be used in the future not only to improve the sugar metabolism but also to treat non-alcoholic fatty liver disease.

1DPP4 is the acronym for dipeptidyl peptidase 4. The enzyme cleaves, among others, some intestinal hormones (incretins) glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) and gastric inhibitory polypeptides (GIP), which as a result lose their effectiveness. This leads to high blood glucose values; the function of the insulin-producing cells in the pancreas is also negatively influenced. DPP4 inhibitors are already used as a drug in the treatment of diabetes in order to prolong the effect of the two endogenous incretins GLP-1 and GIP. Their aim is to increase insulin secretion after food intake in people with type 2 diabetes.

Reference: Baumeier, C., Schlüter, L., Saussenthaler, S., Laeger, T., Rödiger, M., Alaze, S. A., Fritsche, L., Häring, H.-U., Stefan, N., Fritsche, A., Schwenk, R. W., Schürmann, A.: Elevated hepatic DPP4 activity promotes insulin resistance and non-alcoholic fatty liver disease. Mol. Metab. 6, 1254–1263 (Open Access) (2017).

© 2018 DIfE - German Institute of Human Nutrition. All rights reserved. // as of 24.11.2017

Schriftgröße  A-  A  A+
2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015

Dife Logo

Druckversion von: http://www.www.dife.de/forschung/forschungshighlights/index.php?id=8
Stand: 15.10.2018 10:09:50

In Leber gebildetes Enzym fördert Übergewicht, Leberverfettung und Insulinresistenz

Forschungshighlight vom 04.08.2017

Wenn die Leber das Enzym DPP41 verstärkt bildet und ins Blut abgibt, führt dies bei Mäusen unter einer fettreichen Ernährung zu einer stärkeren Körperfettzunahme, zu einer Verfettung der Leber sowie zu einer Insulin-Unempfindlichkeit der Leberzellen. Dieses Ergebnis der Abteilung Experimentelle Diabetologie legt in Kombination mit anderen Beobachtungen der Abteilung aus Human- und Zellstudien nahe, dass eine erhöhte DPP4-Produktion in der Leber deren Verfettung sowie eine Insulinresistenz verursacht und nicht eine Folge der Leberverfettung ist. Nach Ansicht der Wissenschaftler ließen sich daher die bereits aus der Diabetestherapie bekannten DPP4-Inhibitoren künftig nicht nur nutzen, um den Zuckerstoffwechsel zu verbessern, sondern auch, um eine nicht-alkoholische Fettlebererkrankung zu behandeln. DPP4 ist ein Enzym, das zu einem großen Teil in der Leber gebildet wird und das wichtige Darmhormone des Zuckerstoffwechsels in ihrer Wirkung hemmt.

1DPP4 steht für Dipeptidyl peptidase 4. Das Enzym spaltet u.a. die Darmhormone (Inkretine) Glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) und Gastric inhibitory polypeptide (GIP), die hierdurch ihre Wirkung verlieren. Dies begünstigt hohe Blutzuckerwerte, ebenso wird die Funktion der insulinproduzierenden Zellen der Bauchspeicheldrüse negativ beeinflusst. DPP4-Inhibitoren werden bereits als Medikament in der Diabetestherapie eingesetzt, um die Wirkung der beiden körpereigenen Inkretine GLP-1 und GIP zu verlängern. Ihr Ziel ist es, die Insulinausschüttung nach der Nahrungsaufnahme bei Menschen mit Typ-2-Diabetes zu verstärken.

Literatur: Baumeier, C., Schlüter, L., Saussenthaler, S., Laeger, T., Rödiger, M., Alaze, S. A., Fritsche, L., Häring, H.-U., Stefan, N., Fritsche, A., Schwenk, R. W., Schürmann, A.: Elevated hepatic DPP4 activity promotes insulin resistance and non-alcoholic fatty liver disease. Mol. Metab. 6, 1254–1263 (Open Access) (2017).

© 2018 DIfE - Deutsches Institut für Ernährungsforschung. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. // Stand 24.11.2017

Webdesign // Netzformat Internetagentur