Font size  A-  A  A+

 

Dr. Krasimira Aleksandrova

Dife Logo

Printversion of: http://www.www.dife.de/forschung/abteilungen/kurzprofil.php?abt=EIM&lang=en
Status: 24.01.2018 02:47:54

Image Nutrition, Immunity and Metabolism

Start-up Lab Nutrition, Immunity and Metabolism (EIM)

Profile

Field of research

Scientists of the start-up lab carry out epidemiological studies to investigate the complex interplay between nutrition, the immune system, metabolic regulation, and the development and progression of age-related disorders. Their goal is to identify novel approaches for risk assessment and risk prediction, with cancer as the focal point of research.

Background

Poor nutrition, metabolic dysregulation, and adiposity-induced inflammation potentially promote a variety of age-related disorders, including some types of cancer. However, the mechanisms of action of these factors remain poorly understood. The multilevel interactions between the metabolic and the immune systems suggest that pathogenic mechanisms may underlie many of the downstream complications of adiposity, thus offering new approaches to targeted disease prevention.

Objective

Our group aims to understand the complex interplay between nutrition (including body composition), the immune system, metabolic regulation and the development and progression of age-related disorders, in order to establish innovative methods for risk assessment and prediction. Our research is focused on specific types of cancer, for example, colorectal cancer.

Our work encompasses epidemiological research projects within the European Prospective Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition (EPIC) in the following areas:


© 2018 DIfE - German Institute of Human Nutrition. All rights reserved. // as of 12.01.2018

Schriftgröße  A-  A  A+

 

Dr. Krasimira Aleksandrova

Dife Logo

Druckversion von: http://www.www.dife.de/forschung/abteilungen/kurzprofil.php?abt=EIM
Stand: 24.03.2017 15:09:12

Image Ernährung, Immunität und Metabolismus

Start-up-Lab Ernährung, Immunität und Metabolismus (EIM)

Kurzprofil

Forschungsgebiet

Die Wissenschaftler des Start-up-Labs führen epidemiologische Untersuchungen durch, um das komplexe Zusammenspiel zwischen Ernährung, Immunsystem, Stoffwechselregulation und dem Entstehen und Verlauf altersbedingter Erkrankungen zu erforschen. Ihr Ziel ist es, neue Ansätze für die Risikobewertung und Risikovorhersage zu identifizieren. Der Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt dabei auf Krebserkrankungen.

Hintergrund

Eine schlechte Ernährung, Stoffwechselstörungen und Adipositas-induzierte Entzündungen tragen dazu bei, die Entstehung einer Vielzahl altersbedingter Krankheiten einschließlich bestimmter Krebsarten zu fördern. Allerdings sind die Mechanismen noch wenig verstanden, die dieser Beobachtung zu Grunde liegen. Die vielschichtigen Wechselwirkungen zwischen Stoffwechsel und Immunsystem lassen annehmen, dass den zahlreichen Folgekomplikationen der Adipositas pathogene Mechanismen zu Grunde liegen, die neue Ansatzpunkte für gezielte Präventionsmaßnahmen bieten könnten.

Ziel

Wir wollen verstehen, wie das Zusammenspiel von Ernährung, Körperzusammensetzung, Immunsystem und Regulation des Stoffwechsels das Entstehen und den Verlauf altersbedingter Erkrankungen beeinflusst, um neue Methoden zu entwickeln, mit denen sich Erkrankungsrisiken genauer bewerten und vorhersagen lassen. Im Fokus unserer Forschung stehen daher bestimmte Krebserkrankungen wie zum Beispiel Darmkrebs.

Unsere Arbeit umfasst epidemiologische Forschungsprojekte, die innerhalb der European Prospective Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition (EPIC) in den folgenden Bereichen angesiedelt sind:


© 2017 DIfE - Deutsches Institut für Ernährungsforschung. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. // Stand 11.01.2017